Kryptomint by Thierry Mugler: A Review

Earlier in 2017, the house of Mugler released a new fragrance called Kryptomint. The scent is another flanker in the A*Men series, however, this one is very interesting as it focuses around mint. Many times, mint is an afterthought rather than a focus, which is why this fragrance is so amusing. The nose for this fragrance is Jacques Huclier- rightfully so because he was also the nose for the other A*Men flankers. I have been impressed with his other creations, and I knew this one would be great as well. So, I decided to buy a bottle.

After the first spray, I found it to have a spicy mint scent as the opening. This soon changed to a softer mint with the A*Men DNA being very present. Shortly after, a nice chocolate scent arose with a woody-green patchouli. These notes, mixed with the mint, create an intoxicating aroma that lasts for about 8-10 hours on my skin. The sillage is moderate meaning that it only radiates within arm’s length. In my opinion, this fragrance can be worn all year; It is fresh enough for spring and summer, but sweet and woody enough for fall and winter. It smells exquisite- almost niche, which is great being that the price point is only $90. Kryptomint in truly a wonderful release! However, there are a few minor issues.

The first issue I have with this fragrance is that Mugler claimed this fragrance would carry an “Egyptian Geranium” note, which to my nose, does not exist. I think if this note was more prevalent, it would help tie the mint to the patchouli. In addition, it is bottled in the original A*Men bottle which, although iconic, has a terrible atomizer. It creates more of a puddle on my skin rather than a fine mist. But these are tiny issues that don’t pose an enormous problem for the perfume. Overall, I think this is one of the best releases from the house of Mugler.

Buy Kryptomint in the Eau de Toilette concentration here.

Follow me for more content about fashion and lifestyle! I post every Tuesday and Thursday. And as always, remember to Stay Inspired.


Leave a Reply

